Cindy Amos Tourism Champion Award – Municipality, Organization, or Group

Award Overview

Cindy Amos served as the Executive Director for Canadian Badlands Tourism twice. During Cindy’s time with the organization there was significant growth and change. Her influence is still felt as the organization continues to take on new challenges, seek out opportunities, and achieves a growing presence in Alberta’s tourism industry. Cindy’s vision for Canadian Badlands Tourism was to preserve rural values, western culture, and strengthen the economies of the region through sustainable tourism development and investment attraction.

This award is open to municipalities, organizations, and groups who exemplify the characteristics that made Cindy a true champion of tourism in the Canadian Badlands. This award is meant to allow Cindy’s energy and enthusiasm to continue to inspire, while honouring her memory for many years to come. This award also celebrates her and her accomplishments through the celebration of those leaders who exemplify these qualities and values.

Successful award recipients, must have:

  • Strong vision, and the drive to make those visions a reality;
  • The initiative to begin difficult journeys;
  • The perseverance to keep going despite the obstacles they may encounter;
  • The passion to breathe life into every initiative they undertake;
  • The high professional standards to bring these initiatives to a level of excellence;
  • The ability to temper creativity and innovation with practical realities, to create something with
  • lasting impact;
  • The ability to act with authority and listen with compassion;
  • The willingness and ability to take risks and embrace the entrepreneurial spirit that is so strong in the Canadian Badlands region.

Nomination Process

Nominees for the Cindy Amos Tourism Champion Award are those municipalities, organizations, and groups who clearly demonstrate these values through innovative or outstanding accomplishments that help make the Canadian Badlands region an iconic tourism destination within the province of Alberta.

Individuals may be self-nominated or nominated by a third party. In order to be eligible, the individual must reside in or conduct the efforts outlined in the submission within a Canadian Badlands shareholder member community.

Submissions should be no more than 4 pages, double spaced, with 1” margins, in 12pt Times New Roman font. The submission may contain up to four supporting documents or files. Anything beyond the 4 page maximum will not be considered as part of the submission. Submissions must be received no later than March 2, 2020 at 1:00 pm.

Submissions may be sent by mail to:
Awards Committee, c/o Canadian Badlands Tourism, Box 1408, Drumheller, AB T0J 0Y0

Sent by courier to:
Awards Committee, c/o Canadian Badlands Tourism, 181 North Railway Avenue East, Drumheller, AB T0J 0Y0

Sent by email to:
[email protected]

Judging and Award Process

All entries received by application deadline will be reviewed and scored by the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee is comprised of members of the Canadian Badlands team and Board, as well as representatives from Shareholder municipalities and industry.

Submissions will be scored on:

  • Demonstration of leadership qualities outlined; (30 points)
  • Efforts outlined to promote tourism development within the Canadian Badlands region; (20 points)
  • The degree to which the group collaborates with others; (25 points)
  • Results and/or impact of the group’s efforts. (25 points)

The winner will be announced at the Canadian Badlands Tourism Development Conference Gala Dinner on March 5, 2020, at the Travelodge Strathmore.

The winner will receive an award on stage, recognition on the Canadian Badlands website, and a $250 contribution will be made in their name to the Cindy Amos Memorial Scholarship at SAIT.

Questions and inquiries about this award may be made by phone at: 403-823-7741 or by email at [email protected]