In August 2006, 35 municipalities in the region joined together to form Canadian Badlands Tourism (CBT), a part 9, not-for-profit company, to direct the development of tourism across the region. Since then membership has continued to grow to 62 member municipalities throughout southeastern Alberta. Our member municipalities are:

  1. MD of Acadia
  2. Village of Acme
  3. Town of Bassano
  4. Village of Beiseker
  5. Village of Big Valley
  6. Town of Bow Island
  7. City of Brooks
  8. Village of Carbon
  9. Village of Castor
  10. Village of Cereal
  11. Town of Coaldale
  12. Village of Consort
  13. Town of Coronation
  14. Village of Coutts
  15. Cypress County
  16. Village of Delia
  17. Village of Donalda
  18. Town of Drumheller
  19. Village of Duchess
  20. Village of Empress
  21. Village of Foremost
  22. Forty Mile No 8 County
  23. Village of Halkirk
  24. Town of Hanna
  25. Village of Hussar
  26. Town of Irricana
  27. Kneehill County
  28. City of Lethbridge
  29. Village of Linden
  30. Town of Magrath
  31. City of Medicine Hat
  32. Town of Milk River
  33. Village of Milo
  34. County of Newell
  35. Village of Nobleford
  36. Town of Oyen
  37. County of Paintearth
  38. Town of Picture Butte
  39. Town of Raymond
  40. Town of Redcliff
  41. Village of Rockyford
  42. Village of Rosemary
  43. Siksika Nation
  44. Special Area #2
  45. Special Area #3
  46. Special Area #4
  47. Village of Standard
  48. Starland County
  49. Town of Stettler
  50. Village of Stirling
  51. Town of Strathmore
  52. Town of Taber
  53. MD of Taber
  54. Town of Three Hills
  55. Town of Trochu
  56. Town of Vauxhall
  57. Vulcan County
  58. Town of Vulcan
  59. Village of Warner
  60. County of Warner No. 5
  61. Wheatland County
  62. Village of Youngstown

Shareholders, partners and funding agencies provide the financial support for the operations of Canadian Badlands Tourism Shareholder support comes through an annual levy of 50 cents per person, with a $25,000 maximum. With the strength of the largest municipal partnership, CBT has multiplied its Shareholders levy 130 times for a total of over $15 million in funding from federal and provincial programs. Canadian Badlands Tourism also acknowledges Alberta Tourism, Parks, and Recreation for its commitment to provide annual support.